Montego Bay Chamber of Commerce & Industries

Montego Bay Chamber Of Commerce And Industry Annual Awards Banquet

By / news / Comments Off on Montego Bay Chamber Of Commerce And Industry Annual Awards Banquet
It was a spectacular affair at the 83rd staging of the Montego Bay Chamber of Commerce and Industry (MBCCI) Annual Awards Banquet, held at the Hilton Rose Hall Resort and Spa in Montego Bay, last Saturday.

It was attended by approximately 450 persons, representing the business community, who came to give their support to those who were recognised for their contribution for the 2015 calendar year.

Congresswoman Yvette Clarke, who serves New York’s ninth district (Brooklyn), and who also accompanied United States President Barack Obama on his historic visit to Jamaica earlier this year, gave the keynote address.

Held under the theme, ‘Celebrating a Rich Heritage’, the Gloria Henry-led commercial community group also used the event to celebrate the contribution of five pioneering giants who have created industries that have helped to shape Montego Bay’s economic landscape, have been selected to become the first inductees of the newly created Montego Bay Chamber of Commerce and Industry (MBCCI) Wall of Fame for esteemed business leaders.

The five stalwarts that were honoured are: businessman extraordinaire Anthony ‘Tony’ Hart, the visionary behind the creation and subsequent modernisation of the Montego Bay Freeport; hotel mogul Gordon ‘Butch’ Stewart, the founder and chairman of Sandals Resorts International; transport pioneer Ralph Smith of Tropical Tours Limited; renown Inbond Merchant, the late BD Dadlani; and famed land developer, the late Joe Whitter, the creator of the Whitter Village Complex.

For the yearly plaudits, New Investment, Business Development and Expansion Award – Xerox Jamaica and GWest Centre; Corporate Partner Award – Digicel Business; Hospitality Services Partner award – The Montego Bay Convention Centre; Community Contribution Partner Award – Wards Power Tools and Supplies; Community Contribution Life Time Award – Committee for the Upliftment of the Mentally Ill (CUMI); Vocational Award for Outstanding Customer Service – Kathi Cooke; and the Director of the Year Award – Sonia Bowen Clarke.


Photos By: Mark Titus


The Official Guide to Everything Montego Bay.